European Union

The European Union (EU) is a union of twenty-eight independent states based on the European Communities and founded to enhance political, economic and social co-operation. Formerly known as European Community (EC) or European Economic Community (EEC).

Date of foundation: 1st November, 1993. The euro currency was introduced on 1999-01-01 as an accounting currency, euro coins and banknotes are in circulation since 2002-01-01.

Member states (EUR: Euro currency):

Burkhard Kirste, 2007-06-22, 2015-01-01